ULB Polls: BJD Names Mayor Candidates For BMC, CMC & BeMC

Bhubaneswar, Mar 5: The ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on Biju Jayanti, today (Saturday) announced names of the party’s Mayor candidates for three municipal corporations ahead of the Urban Local Bodies (ULB) polls in Odisha.

Subash Singh, Sulochana Das and Sanghamitra Dalei have been named as the Mayor candidates of BJD for Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC), Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation (BMC) and Berhampur Municipal Corporation (BeMC), respectively.

The State Election Commission (SEC) had earlier announced elections to 106 ULBs and three Municipal Corporations on March 24 and counting on March 26 .

The three Municipal Corporations will have a total of 168 wards and 1,407 booths. These include 67 wards and 705 booths in BMC, 59 wards and 452 booths in CMC, and 42 wards and 250 booths in BeMC.

On the other hand, Congress has already named former corporator Giribala Behera as the party’s Mayor candidate for the Cuttack Municipal Corporation.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button