Raghubar Das sworn in as Governor of Odisha

Bhubaneswar, Oct 31: Former Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das was sworn in as the new Governor of Odisha on Tuesday.

Orissa High Court Acting Chief Justice Bidyut Ranjan Sarangi administered the oath of office and secrecy to the new Governor at a function held in Rajbhawan.

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, Union Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, Odisha Assembly Speaker Pramila Mallik, several judges of the Orissa High Court, Ministers of Odisha Council of Ministers, and several MLAs and MPs attended the swearing-in ceremony.

In addition, Odisha Chief Secretary P K Jena, and Secretaries of various departments were also present at the swearing-in ceremony.

President Droupadi Murmu appointed Raghubar Das as the Governor of Odisha on October 18.
Das succeeded Prof Ganeshi Lal, who assumed the Office of Odisha Governor on May 29, 2018, and served the state for five years and five months.

Das accompanied by his around 80 relatives and family members had reached Puri on Monday and had darshan of the Trinity.
On Tuesday before taking oath, he visited Lord Lingaraj Temple here and offered prayer to the Lord. He said he had prayed for the development and prosperity of Odisha and the country.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button