20 Opposition parties boycott inauguration of new Parliament building; 17 to attend

Indian politics is again at play, but this time it is not over a party seat, proposed law or some inappropriate remark, but over a newly-built building. Though it holds an important place in the heart of the world’s biggest democracy, the new Parliament building, which is all set to be inaugurated on Sunday, has got caught up in a political quagmire.

A total of 20 opposition parties announced on Wednesday that they will boycott the inauguration ceremony of the new Parliament building on May 28. In contrast, 17 parties announced that they will attend the ceremony where Prime Minister Narendra Modi will unveil the new Parliament building. These 15 parties are mostly from the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance.

Apart from the ruling party, Bharatiya Janta Party, the following parties will attend the inauguration ceremony on May 28:

Shiv Sena (Eknath Shinde faction)

National People’s Party (NPP)

Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP)

Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM)

Rashtriya Lok Janshakti Party (RLJP)

Apna Dal (Soneylal)

Republican Party of India (RPI)

Tamil Maanila Congress

All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK)

All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU)

Mizo National Front (MNF)

Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP)

Telugu Desam Party (TDP)

Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD)

Biju Janata Dal (BJD)

Apart from this, the Tamil Nadu-based Indhiya Makkal Kalvi Munnetra Kazhagam (IMKMK), founded by Devanathan Yadav is also likely to attend the opening ceremony of the new Parliament building.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button