Prime Minister Deuba wins trust vote in House of Representatives

Kathmandu, Jul 18 : Nepal’s Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba on Sunday won a trust vote in the House of Representatives by securing 165 votes.
While 165 votes were in Deuba’s favour 83 votes were cast against him, while one lawmaker remained neutral.
In total, 249 lawmakers had participated in the voting process.
​​​​​​Lawmakers of Nepali Congress, CPN Maoist Centre and Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal cast their votes in favour of Deuba.
The Thakur-Mahato faction of the JSP-N decided to vote in favour of Deuba at the last hour.
Lawmakers from dissident faction of the UML were divided in this regard wherein close to a dozen MPs decided to leave the House after it was noted that Deuba would manage to pull majority of votes to his side even without the Nepal faction.
However, the remaining lawmakers, including Madhav Kumar Nepal himself, voted in favour of Deuba.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button